The 30 Pound Challenge

Just another WordPress.com weblog

In The Beginning… September 16, 2009

Filed under: Health — christyfabela @ 3:32 pm

Well hello!

If you haven’t already read my about me page, here’s a brief overview of who I am and why I’ve decided to start a blog. My name is Christy, I’m 29 years old and I am a single mother of the best 6-year-old boy there is. For the last year I quit my job as a Medical Assistant with a group of kidney Doctors to go back to school full-time to become a nurse.

In the last 2 years I have gone from 130 to 160 pounds. My dress size has gone from a size 4-6 to a size 14. Those are very depressing stats and because of the ever growing list of medical problems of my parents that can be attributed to their weight, I’ve decided I have to do something… and quick. My boyfriend of 2 years is currently in another state and will not be home till March of 2010.

So this is my challenge to myself, to get back into shape by the time he gets home. 30 pounds in roughly 5 months time. A very reasonable goal in my opinion. After I had my son I did Weight Watchers to help me lose the 30+ pounds I still had hanging on from my pregnancy. I did great and lost the weight in about 6 months. I plan on using the same guidelines as the WW program, but instead of paying for weekly meetings, this blog is how I plan on making myself accountable for my weight loss progress.

Every week I plan on talking to you about what I’m eating, what I’m doing to stay active, the struggles I’m faced with and a weekly announcement of my weigh in. I will also be posting monthly pictures of myself so you all can actually see my progress… no matter how embarrassing they might be. In turn I hope you all will share with me your stories, personal struggles and tips that you might have. So let’s get started!

The game plan:

  1. Consume 20 points a day (click on link for information)
  2. Drink eight 8oz glasses of water a day
  3. 30 minutes of excercise every other day
  4. Plenty of sleep

I’m excited! Tune in tomorrow for my first body stats and photo! Thanks for joining me on this journey.

-Christy

 

7 Responses to “In The Beginning…”

  1. Darlyn Says:

    Love the blog, Christy! I’ll be faithfully reading your blog as I have similar goals too =P

  2. Laura Says:

    What a great idea! Good luck!!

  3. Erin Says:

    Good Luck! I will definately be following your progress as well as following mine! All your tips & tricks will be an awesome read & motivator!!!! 🙂

  4. Shannon Says:

    Christy, I am so very proud of you for starting this. I will certainly be following your progress as well as constantly rooting for you! 🙂


Leave a Reply

