The 30 Pound Challenge

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Baby Steps. September 21, 2009

Filed under: Health — christyfabela @ 12:05 pm

Welcome to the week every one!

I’m sitting in the computer lab on campus and I realized just how homeless I look today! Omg. Flip flops, sloppy jeans, a ratty old t-shirt, my greasy hair pulled back and no makeup! I’ve some what let myself go without the boyfriend around. So along with my 30 pound challenge, I’m going to start caring about me as well. Stop leaving the house looking like I just rolled out of bed and take a little time to show that I love myself!

And with that, on with the real purpose for this post! I’m a firm believer when making life changes, drastic and abrupt changes in your lifestyle tend to not work in the long run. Keep in mind, I am no expert, I’m not a Dr., nutritionist or in any way shape or form a licensed professional about anything! But I do know what works for me. And what works for me is making small changes in my regular foods and activities that don’t mentally impact me in such a way that I decide “I can’t do this, I give up”.

These few ideas will not give you immediate results, but they will stay with you long after you lose the weight.  If you watch The Biggest Loser like I do, you might have made an interesting observation. These individuals are screamed at, pushed above and beyond their limits and have been shoved into a new way of living starting from day one. Why? Because they need to literally be brain washed. It sounds horrible I know, but these people are seriously obese and it’s a matter of life and death at this point. These trainers have to completely re wire these individuals brains in order to get them to live a healthier lifestyle. It’s drastic and it’s the same thing the military does in order to get soldiers to listen to their superiors and do what they need ask of them. It’s affective but drastic and is not realistic for the general population just trying to get a little healthier. I don’t plan on ever getting to a point that I need that kind of change. And we all can prevent that from happening by making small changes to our every day life.

So here are some of the little changes I’ve made that are totally doable and I don’t even miss.

  • Heart Healthy Bisquick instead of regular. Tastes exactly the same and almost half the calories and fat.
  • Egg substitute when baking. Why add on the extra fat and calories when you can’t taste it? I can’t seem to muscle them down when made into omlets or scrambled eggs… but that’s just me. I’d much rather have one real scrambled egg than a big egg substitute breakfast…
  • Sugar Free syrup. Cary’s and Smuckers are very good. I use it a lot to sweeten things and it doesn’t have a wierd aspartame after taste.
  • Ground turkey for seasoned ground meat dishes. I never use ground beef any more (unless it’s for a burger). And honestly for things like tacos and sloppy joes… people have no clue it’s not beef.
  • Smart Balance Butter. They’ve come a long way since Parkay… it’s heart healthy, tastes pretty good and they have even come out with baking sticks!
  • Non fat milk when cooking (I still have a hard time just drinking it… baby steps)
  • Sweet potato instead of regular white.
  • Best Foods low calorie double whipped mayo. Something new they came out with recently and it really is not bad. But I generally try not to use mayo at all. I used to eat most cooked green veggies (brussel sprouts, asparagus) with mayo. But if they are seasoned properly there really is no need for it.
  • No sugar added jams and jellys I believe it’s Smuckers? You want to look for just fruit jams and jellys. It’s fruit… it shouldn’t need added sugar!

These are just a few things that I have changed in my diet that I really don’t notice I’ve changed. I find that a lot of the sugar free items are very good now-a-days and it cuts the calories by a ton. Try things! If you don’t like the replacement item… DON’T EAT IT! These changes should be easy to transition into your diet. If it’s something you can’t find a suitable substitute for, ask yourself if you can give it up all together. My vice is soda… I personally can not stand diet soda’s. I have tried many many times and it just doesn’t taste good to me. I know soda is no good for me, but I’m not going to force myself to drink diet when I don’t like it. So I decided to try and cut it out all together.

If you force yourself to eat things you really dislike… you will feel deprived and most likely go back to eating poorly because your body and mind misses something from your old diet. It’s trial and error. And if you wake up one day feeling like if you don’t have a cheeseburger that day you are going to rip some ones head off… (I’ve had those days) by all means… have the dang cheeseburger. But plan for it! Bulk up on fruits and veggies that day, drink plenty of water and make up for it with a walk around the neighborhood. That way you don’t feel defeated and think “well crap, I might as well just give it up because I had a burger”.

No one expects you to drastically change your eating habits, so neither should you. It just takes a little talking to yourself, making better choices and paying attention to portion sizes. Just those things alone can do a world of difference. Last night I was feeling very down, I went down stairs and sat there in front of my fridge. There was my mother left over chocolate chip bread pudding with a whiskey butter sauce staring at me… I WANTED IT! In normal circumstances I would have dished myself up a big heaping bowl, ran back upstairs and ate it in my bed while watching tv. I took a moment and talked it out in my head… I can have it… but it’s too late in the evening for me to compensate for it today. And tomorrow it will be too late (Studies show it’s much easier to work of calories and fat that you consumed that same day). Instead I grabbed a small banana to calm the sweet craving, that way I didn’t go to bed deprived and if I still wanted the bread pudding the next day I would plan for it.

I hope this helps some of you! Keep in mind any change in your lifestyle will be challenging but with baby steps it won’t be as daunting a task!

Thanks for stopping by!

-Christy

 

Leave a Reply

