The 30 Pound Challenge

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Momentum November 18, 2009

Filed under: Body Image,Fitness,Food,Health,Life,Weight Loss — christyfabela @ 1:53 pm

Happy Wednesday ya’ll!

Does any one else notice how Wednesday is the slacker day? Monday and Tuesday I usually start off with a ton of motivation to get things done, Thursday and Friday are the days to quickly finish what you set out to do on Monday and Tuesday. But Wednesday is the “I just don’t want to do it day”. Last night I got to go to the So You Think You Can Dance Tour show. I called into a radio station and was caller 97! I never win anything! Needless to say it was a late night for me. And when I woke up this morning I was not too excited to do an hour workout. But I did and boy was I glad I did. I lost a pound since yesterday! Which means my new strategy of eating and excercise is working! I know my official weigh in is tomorrow but I couldn’t wait to show my results.

Starting weight in September: 159.5 lbs.

Todays weight : 151.9 lbs.

I am almost at the 10 pound mark! That’s exciting! If I was to say that I’m not losing weight to be “skinny” I’d be lying. Of course I would like to be thinner, fit into my clothes better and feel better about my body. But these days what motivates me is the fact that not only is my father a type 2 diabetic, but his sister and his brother are also. All due to being “obese”. It scares me to death to think if I go passed the overweight status into obese, I will become diabetic. If this was just purely about my looks most likely I would not stick with it. I haven’t before when trying to fit into a pair of jeans or a special event comes up. I have a boyfriend who loves me and loves my curves so I never pushed myself to keep the weight off or to actually make my goal. But I don’t want to have a preventable disease because I’m overweight.

With that being said here’s a quick overview of my excercise and eating routine during the day.

at least 1 hour of excercise in the morning, making sure I burn 255 calories.

  • Coffee: 4 points (with cream and sugar)
  • Light and Fit yogurt or Sugar free pudding: 2 points
  • 2 carrots (regular sized): 0 points
  • individual package of Sabra humus: 4 points (there’s less point humus that I have at home but I bought these for convenience and don’t want to waste it)
  • 5 slices of pickled beets: 0 points
  • 1 pickle: 0 points
  • WATER WATER WATER
  • 1 medium flour tortilla with 2 TBLS of humus: 3 points
  • Then a sensible dinner

My plan is fill up through out my day on fresh veggies and fruits and a little protein. I love humus because a really healthy dip that makes veggies not so boring. It’s also a great replacement for mayo on sandwiches.

Thanks for stopping by!

-Christy

 

2 Responses to “Momentum”

  1. Darlyn Says:

    I love how detailed you are about what you eat, even if it’s not healthy. I’m very proud of you for losing the weight. We all fall off the horse sometimes when we try to reach our goals. It happens because we’re human 🙂 I don’t like to work out but I’d rather do that over eating healthy. Sad but true. You know the 2 lbs I told you I loss that one day? it’s all back! I look thinner so the weight gain is more than likely due to the muscle mass I’m gaining. But we’re both doing great! Keep it up, Christy! I’m rooting for you

  2. Thanks so much darlyn, im trying really hard and buying a pair of jeans today that are 2 sizes smaller then when I started was really rewarding! Im sure I will have bad days cuz im not perfect. But im not going to totally give up, that’s for sure.


Leave a Reply

