The 30 Pound Challenge

Just another WordPress.com weblog

And the Holiday Eating Begins! November 29, 2009

Filed under: Body Image,Christmas,Fitness,Food,Health,Holiday,Life,Parties,Weight Loss — christyfabela @ 12:37 pm

Me Breaking Santa's Leg.

 MEEERRRRRYYYYY CHRRRRIIIIISSSSTTTMMAAASS….

Okay, so I’ve never been a fan of how early Christmas starts. This year I saw Christmas stuff going up after Halloween…

But I do have to say that the Christmas party thrown by some family friends was great! The kids had a blast, the food was great and so was the company.

Just like Thanksgiving I went in with a game plan. The game plan originally was “don’t eat too much”. lol  Well I did “ok”. Not as well as I’d like to have done. I had a couple glasses of wine which is never good because it usually promotes me to eat more than I normally would. I had a couple devilled eggs, some chips and dip, sweet and sour meatballs, a crab cake, chinese chicken salad, bruschetta with roasted garlic…. the list goes on. I also had a Dr. Pepper. I did my best to stay away from the pies and cakes (not like it would have made a difference with how much I ate on the regular food).

New party tip… if there are babies at the party, wash those hands and hold them! With arms full of baby you can’t keep picking at food! (Well you could if you really wanted to) But I found it kept me occupied and took my mind of the goodies in the other room.

hands full = mouth empty

Santa came and that also kept me away from the food. I didn’t do as well as I wanted, but I could have done a whole lot worse! I even joined Joy and Jesse for a walk of the dogs.

I didn’t feel over stuffed when I went to bed last night, and didn’t wake up hungry this morning. The holidays are the worst time for watching what you eat, especially with parties! The only tips I can give are these…

  • Try to fill up on healthy things before you go
  • Drink lots of water while you’re there
  • Ask if you can bring something, that way there’s at least one dish you know you can eat without feeling bad.
  • Portion control
  • Engage in conversation, the more you talk, the less you will put in your mouth.

What do you do when you go to holiday parties?  Share tips or good healthy recipes that you use for your shin-digs! Thanks for stopping by!

-Christy

 

Leave a Reply

