The 30 Pound Challenge

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Late Weigh-in and tips from the Today show. December 4, 2009

Filed under: Body Image,Christmas,Fitness,Food,Health,Holiday,Life,Parties,Weight Loss — christyfabela @ 3:51 pm

Happy Friday ya’ll

The next couple weeks are going to be a mad house! Not only are finals in just a couple weeks, but all my classes have decided to do tests the week before finals also!? WTF! This will definitely affect my excercise time, not to mention the eating that comes with studying.

This week I did pretty good. I didn’t work out every day, but I did work out. And I splurged a couple times this week with food… but nothing to crazy.

I weighed in at 150.4 pounds! Nothing major but it did go down! I’m obviously doing something right. And the fact that I didn’t go up from Thanksgiving and a Holiday party… I say I’m doin alright.

The other day on the Today Show, they had some really great tips on how to eat during the holidays that I wanted to share with you. You can also click on the link below for more healthy tips from Joy.

http://today.msnbc.msn.com/id/20823138

For your holiday baking, when it calls for oil, you can replace it with equal value of apple sauce or canned pumpkin. You can save up to 1800 calories! Also you can reduce the sugar it calls for.

People often think that when you know you’re going to a party or having a big holiday meal they should skip breakfast. Best plan is to have little light meals throughout the day so that you are not starving by the time the function starts and will be less likely to binge on the holiday food.

When it comes to cocktails, stay away from sugar filled mixed drinks. The simpler the better. Drinks that are 100-120 calories each include: 5 oz glass of wine or champagne, rum and diet coke and a gin and diet tonic.

One of my fave tips she gave was use the smaller dessert plates, load up on whatever you want, but stick to just one plate. Also if your thing is desserts, load up on fruit if there is any then pick the most decadent dessert you can find and have a palm sized serving.

She also mention some of the worst holiday foods include prime rib, pecan pie and eggnog.

Thankfully I don’t like eggnog 😉

Hope you found that interesting! Have a great weekend!

-Christy

 

Leave a Reply

