The 30 Pound Challenge

Just another WordPress.com weblog

New Years Resolutions… December 30, 2009

Filed under: Body Image,Christmas,Fitness,Food,Health,Holiday,Life,Parties,Weight Loss — christyfabela @ 1:19 pm

Hello ya’ll,

I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday. I know mine was very special. We went to Disneyland during Christmas. Mainly because my son was born on Christmas Eve. He had the best time because he’s at an age now where he can go on almost all the rides. It was nuts there though! Way too crowded for me. I don’t mind waiting in line for rides, but when I have to wait in a sea of shoulder to shoulder people to get out of the park… (who are mostly rude) It gets me a bit claustrophobic.

So I tackled Disneyland with the idea that I would only splurge on items that I can only really get there. If I can get it at home, then I would pick a salad so that I could save myself for the real good stuff. Mornings were mainly a cup of coffee and possibly a bite of a pastry or part of a full egg breakfast.  We had brought healthy snacks for back at the hotel but for the most part they went untouched. For some reason I felt seriously full the entire trip, which helped.  To give you an idea of how the trip started off, here’s a picture of our first stop in LA. Lunch at Pink’s…

Yes I ate every last bite of mine, and felt horribly sick after word. The entire trip I made choices of “do I want this soda or desert with dinner?” I did not go hog-wild while there. It also helps being on a very strict budget. I never felt deprived or hungry. The amount of walking you do in the park is awesome. And Tarzan’s Tree is a fantastic buns and thigh workout! my muscles were twitching after climbing that thing several times.

Surprisingly enough when I got home I decided to weigh myself so I knew what the damage from finals week and the trip was. I had only gained 1 pound! I thought for sure I would be up 5 pounds. Phew!

Santa brought me the new Wii Active Trainer. Wow… it’s awesome! Far superior to Wii Fit. With journals to keep track of progress, eating and activity, a progressive workout and a 30 day challenge to jump-start you… it really feels like you have a personal trainer. The workouts are fantastic. I’m 3 days into it and yesterday my legs were so sore I was walking funny. Every day the Wii chooses the workout and it keeps track of how well you do each excercise so that the next day it can make it harder if you’re doing well at it. Since starting on Sunday I’ve already lost that pound.

Current weight 150 lbs.

Most current body shot.

A little under 3 months to go and a little more than 20 pounds to go. I think it’s totally obtainable. The next thing to tackle is New Years. I won’t be worrying about drinking since I probably won’t be. But we will be going to a family friends get together. There will be crab, and steak… oh and numerous finger foods all day long. Bethenny Frankle from Housewives of New York and author of her new book “The Skinnygirl Dish” looks at our bodies as a bank account. Check her out. I love her ideas and will be purchasing her book. http://www.bethenny.com/index.html. So I will be taking that into account tomorrow.

What’s my New Years Resolution? Don’t have one. I don’t feel you need a big event to get you motivated to be the best person you can be. Why not start today? I do know that I want to start dancing again this upcoming year.. and if anyone knows of a reasonably priced dance studio in the Fresno area, please let me know! I hope you all have a great and safe New Years. See you next year!

-Christy

 

Leave a Reply

