The 30 Pound Challenge

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Finally! January 8, 2010

Happy Friday ya’ll!

How was everyone’s week? I had a very relaxed week. School doesn’t start till Monday, the little one is back to school and my parents are away on business. This means lots of me time. I relaxed, read, worked out and even went out for a girls afternoon with a friend. In the past I’ve used these opportunities to eat as much crap as I can. Mainly out of boredom, or that no one was watching me. When it’s just me and my son in the house it’s easier to get take out then to cook for myself. But I refused this time , except for eating at Macaroni Grill yesterday for lunch.

I’ve been very good and not giving in to the temptation of buying soda, or eating everything I can get my hands on. This trip to the grocery store I bought lots of fresh veggies and fruit. I discovered a new yummy snack. I usually get Jello sugar-free pudding snacks to have in the house when I get a craving for chocolate because they are only 2 points and 60 calories (better than the 100 calorie pack ones they sell). I noticed a new package all in black but didn’t really look at it that close. As I walked by I noticed it said “mousse” and I quickly went in for a closer look. Jello sugar-free 60 calorie chocolate mousse! Let me tell you, they are awesome! I highly recommend them!

I’ve been very dilligent on my water consumption. I got a bit discouraged because I haven’t been able to break the 150 mark. And I’ve been very strict with my eating and work-out schedule. So the only thing I could think of was that I’m not drinking enough water. I also reduced the amount of sugar in my coffee.  Today I woke up feeling ill and feverish so I decided to skip my morning work-out and try it a little later after the meds kicked in. I wasn’t going to weigh myself today, but I thought I better do it so I know what I’m working with going into the weekend.

Drum roll please!……………. I lost 1.5 pounds bringing my weight to 149!

FINALLY! I thought I might not ever get over that hump. I’m not getting any younger and clearly my metabolism has crapped out on me. But I literally did a happy dance when I saw that number. I had a feeling I would do good when the wii balance board said “Great!” instead of “OH!” when I stepped on.

I have started watching the new season of The Biggest Loser and decided to join the Pound for Pound Challenge. If you haven’t heard about it, please check out the link. I pledged to lose 20 pounds by June. For every pound I pledge and lose, a pound of food will be delivered to a food bank. I figure I’m already losing weight, why not help someone in the process. 

This is the time of year when it’s easiest to pack on pounds. With the cold weather, sweaters, jackets and sweats make it easy for us to settle in and be stagnent. Don’t let the dropping temperatures detour you from your goals. I know waking up and taking that frist step out of my warm bed kills my motivation to work out.  But I’m glad I push through and get it done.

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend! Thanks for stopping by.

Christy

 

Leave a Reply

