The 30 Pound Challenge

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Cravings… January 10, 2010

Happy Sunday morning ya’ll!

It’s been seriously cold, foggy and gloomy this weekend! Whenever the weather is like this all I want to do is snuggle up in bed, read a book, drink coffee/hot chocolate and eat soup. With that in mind, it makes getting up, working out and eating properly a real struggle. That’s why I thought I’d talk a little about cravings.

A lot of Doctors agree that when your body is craving something (especially when you’re pregnant) that it means your body needs something within that food. Whether it be sodium, protein, calcium or some other nutrient they say it’s okay to indulge in those cravings in moderation. And although I agree with this, when you’re dieting you tend to crave the food you’re so used to eating. In this case it would be wise to make switch outs like I’ve talked about before. Your body craves those things because it’s so used to eating the crap that it thinks it’s supposed to have it on a regular basis. Example, my addiction to Dr. Pepper! I constantly crave it, but I’m pretty sure there’s no essential vitamins my body needs from it. Sooooooo here’s a picture of just a few of my favorite ways to curb the cravings.

When I do crave something it’s usually something sweet, as you can tell from the picture.  So as you can see I have an apple, really good when I’m just craving food. The Special K protein shakes are great on the go meals and far superior to any of the other well-known meal supplements. Jello pudding, always sugar-free, is always stocked in the fridge… I’m a girl and we need our chocolate. Clausen pickles for when I need something salty and crunchy. Much better than a hand full of potato chips! Sugar free fruit gelatin is also always stocked. I love to mix up the flavors. Some items that I don’t have in the pic would be a good hummus and fresh veggies to dip in it. As long as I have those things in the house I’m not tempted to run to a drive through and get a burger, fries and soda. Granted there’s no comparison to hummus with veggies to french fries… BUT it does make not having those things a little easier.

After my most excellent weigh in on Friday I was really excited and got really motivated to get real tight on my calorie intake. I have a habit of rewarding myself when I do something good, losing weight included, with food. Several times this weekend I had the thought “oh boy what will I treat myself with”. I thought about getting Cam and I a pizza for dinner last night. I quickly snapped myself out of it and told myself “this is exactly why you’re over weight Christy!” I have worked very hard these last 3 weeks to get off the junk. I have not had a migraine in almost 2 weeks! My body has finally realized it doesn’t need Dr. Pepper to live and I’d like to keep it that way. So I rewarded myself with a new book. No junk food rewards! I mean really, how stupid is that! “Hey I just lost weight! Let’s celebrate with a pizza!” I also decided that even though you’re watching your calorie intake, there’s no reason food can’t taste really good. Last night I made myself something I would normally order in a restaurant, but I would alter it so that the calories and fat intake would fit into my diet. I made portobello mushroom pasta and boy was it awesome! Here’s the recipe, keep in mind this is for one person, so just double or triple the recipe for the number of servings you want.

Ingredients

  • 1 large portobello mushroom cleaned, stemmed and sliced length wise.
  • 1/2 dry penne pasta (for extra healthy use whole wheat pasta)
  • 2 cloves crushed garlic
  • 2 Tbls. olive oil (enough to coat pan)
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup 1% milk
  • handful of parmesan cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste.

Cook pasta according to directions on the package. In saute pan on medium heat, cook olive oil and garlic till fragrant, do not brown garlic. Add sliced portobellos, salt and pepper and cook till no longer raw. *the portobellos will soak up the olive oil, but after a while of cooking it will return to the pan. Add the milk and bring to a simmer. Add cheese and let thicken a bit. Add cooked pasta a little at a time so that there’s just enough pasta for the amount of sauce.

It’s really good. I didn’t get this from an actual recipe so the ingredients were all eyeballed, so hopefully I eyeballed the correct amount for you all to try it out.

I did my workout this morning and snuck on the scale just to see if I’m doing well and I lost another .4! Yay! If I can keep up this momentum I could get close to my goal!

Thanks for stopping by!

Christy

 

3 Responses to “Cravings…”

  1. Please don’t take this the wrong way. I think your overall ideas are fine but you might want to put a little more thought into your next posts. I say this becuase it seems like your writing style has gone downhill a bit as opposed to your previous posts. – C.

    • Thanks for the advice. I am not a writer what so ever, and this blog was mainly to try and keep myself motivated and on point. It’s a bonus that people are actually following. With the new semester of school started, I have just been giving weight updates as apposed to tips and how to’s. I will def. make sure I take more time with my updates in the future. Thanks for stopping by!

    • Jade Says:

      Dude, really? It’s a blog – her blog. She can write whatever the hell she wants to here and if you’re uninspired by it, then write your own.


Leave a Reply

