The 30 Pound Challenge

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Schools in Session. January 15, 2010

Happy Friday Ya’ll!

It’s the end of the week and the end of my first week back at school. This will be a tough semester for me. Taking Microbiology and Physiology in the same semester is usually not recommended but those are the only classes I need to get into the nursing program. I’m sure I will do just fine.

My schedule is really wacky so I have to be very diligent in making sure I plan out my eating properly. Monday’s are the worst days for this. Classes start at 1pm and don’t end till 10pm. I get about 3, 15 minute breaks and an hour in-between the 2 classes to eat something. There’s not enough time to run home and eat dinner. So this Monday I packed myself a Special K protein shake, banana, pickle, carrots, hummus, a bottle water and a tuna sandwich.

Right before I walked into my first class I drank my shake. That lasted me till break. At break I had my banana and some water. When class was over I went to the café and ate some of my carrots with hummus and half my tuna sandwich. I then drove to the Madera campus for my last class. I was very satisfied and didn’t need any food till the first break. I ate my pickle along with the rest of my carrots and hummus. I did great! The only problem I had was getting a headache from lack of caffeine. Normally I have a cup of coffee in the morning and one in the afternoon. I had no way of getting a cup in the afternoon and my body did not like that at all.

I have since fixed that problem with a thermos! I have been on point all week with my work-outs and eating. Dinners that I could actually be home for consisted of a small lamb steak and asparagus one night and turkey tacos with fat-free beans on another night.

This weekend my parents are gone again, which I’ve said before usually makes me stray from eating well. But I’m so excited with my progress that I refuse to jack it up! I’m going to look for a good cauliflower recipe since I need to do something with it before it goes bad. Maybe a stir fry since I have broccoli and more Portobello mushrooms.

And now for the weigh-in results!

My starting weight in September – 159.5 lbs.

As of today my current weight is……. 147.5 lbs.!

That’s 12 pounds! I’m not dropping weight fast like the contestants on The Biggest Loser… but this is the most weight I’ve ever lost by myself. By myself I mean without classes, meetings or some awful illness. This is without a gym membership, pills, trainer or following some ridiculous fad diet. I’m so motivated by this! When I started this I had a hard time figuring out how to stay consistant.

I’ve also found that I’m saving a ton of money by eating all my food from home. Not having to buy a soda every day…. the money I’ve saved from that alone is enough to buy one of my class books! There are times when I think, I just want to go get some fries, a burger and dr. pepper. And honestly, being broke has helped keep my will power in tact. It’s a lot easier not getting a value meal when you’re unwilling to waste money on it.

I’m giving myself a little mini challenge of seeing if I can get to 140 by the end of the month. Weight seems to be coming off a little faster these last couple months, but 7 pounds is a good amount of weight for someone my size and I know it’s a pretty tall order.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope everyone has a wonderful 3 day weekend!

Christy

 

Leave a Reply

