The 30 Pound Challenge

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Wall February 4, 2010

Filed under: Body Image,Fitness,Food,Health,Life,Pound for Pound Challenge,Resolutions — christyfabela @ 2:28 pm

Hello everyone

This last week has been an up and down rollercoaster as far as weight loss goes. I’ve fluctuated between 144 and 143 wich is sooooo frustrating! I could sit here and say that I’ve done everything I’m supposed to, but that would be a lie and I promised myself I’d be honest on this thing… otherwise what’s the point!

My work outs have been few and far between. I had been consistently losing for the past 3 weeks or so and I got lazy. My calorie intake has been on point and there has been no cheating on that end. But I just stopped being active. I haven’t been getting enough sleep and my stress has been through the roof! All I want to do when I’m home is curl up in bed with my book… and that’s exactly what I’ve done. I already knew I would hit a wall at some point because that’s what happens with weight loss. Your body adapts to the new life style and it decides to maintain the weight instead of lose it. But I’m not ready to maintain yet which means I need to switch things up. In the back of my mind I’ve always known I was going to have to do something more than my wii active workouts, and that something would most likely have to be running. I think I’ve mentioned before that I HATE running with a passion! I always feel sick after I run, I hate feeling out of breath and because of the size of my backside… it’s very uncomfortable to run. Just like a large chested woman with not the proper support… it’s like that. But in talking with a friend of mine I knew I would have to start. He mentioned that a good running shoe makes all the difference and is totally worth the money. I will have to save my pennies for that and will just have to make do with my $20 Target brand shoes lol. When I had looked into starting a running routine in the beginning my friend Heidi (who runs marathons) suggested I google ” couch potato to 5k”. There are tons of free web sites that give you instructions on how to go from a non runner, to running 3 miles in a short amount of time. Like anything, jumping straight into the unknown can be daunting. I know for me, I like to be great at it right off the bat and if I’m not or struggle with it I just give up. So we’ll see how this goes. We have a treadmill in the garage that’s covered in junk, so I think I will dig it out and start on that. Sometimes when I’ve run in the past, looking at how far I have to go is enough to make me want to quit. With a treadmill it’s a bit easier for me because it’s me against time and not distance. I know that it’s the exact opposite for others.

This morning when I saw a drop in weight I had a spark of motivation light a fire in me and I did my work out. I did real good considering I haven’t done it in a while. Today I plan on having my protein shake for lunch, a yogurt and some veggies as a snack and turkey chili for dinner.

I know now that I have to get more hard-core about my physical activity… there’s just no way around it. Wish me luck!

Thanks for stopping by.

-Christy

 

3 Responses to “The Wall”

  1. Era Zhyr Says:

    Hey, good job. Congratulations. I have also been trying to lose some weight and the water therapy’s working really well for me. Keep it up!


Leave a Reply

