The 30 Pound Challenge

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chef Spotlight and the Dreaded Spaghetti Factory. February 7, 2010

How is every one on this positively gloomy Sunday morning?

I hope all is well. This weekend I took in some good with the bad. I haven’t weighed myself in the last couple days… But on Friday I weighed 142.6 lbs. I figure I’ll do another picture update when i get in the 130’s… but reallllllly excited about the progress.

There must be something in the air because not only me, but many of my friends have craved burgers. Honestly a good quality burger in the right portion size is not bad every now and then. But I’ve done so good I just didn’t want to chance it. An old highschool friend of mine Shaandi Priester, who is a chef who’s working as a personal chef to a family who has special food needs, gave me a quick and easy recipe for chicken burgers. They sounded so good I decided to give them a shot… so here’s my version of her recipe… there’s really no measurements but I will try my best to make it as clear as possible.

Chicken Burger with Garlic Aoli and Sweet Potato Fries.

First make the garlic aoli since you will have to refrigerate that for about 3 hours.

1 cup of light mayo, juice of 1 lemon, zest of half the lemon, 6 cloves garlic minced, 2 Tbls. good Dijon mustard and salt and pepper to taste. Whisk, cover and refrigerate. This makes enough for the burgers and a dipping sauce for the fries.

For fries,  pre heat oven to 400, cut sweet potatoes, coat them with a little olive oil, cover baking sheet with foil and spread fries evenly. Cook for about 45 minutes or till golden brown turning fries once during baking. Once done sprinkle with some kosher salt.

I used 2 packs of ground chicken which made about 5 large patties. Rough chopped a big handful of baby spinach, 2 cloves of garlic, 2 finely chopped green onion (personal preference on the size), and about 1/2 cup grated low-fat cheese…. I used a garlic cheddar YUM! Salt and pepper to taste. Mix just enough till all ingredients are well-distributed then form into patties. I spread a little olive oil on them first as well as the grill to avoid them sticking. Length of cooking will depend on size of the patties.

I ate mine with one half of a chiabatta (sp?) bun, pickles, some avocado and drizzle the aoli on top. I also highly recommend using the aoli as a dipping sauce for the fries… something about the salty, sweet and tangy of it all hit all the right spots. Really great meal. Shaandi also suggested making it italian style by adding some basil and oregano, bell peppers and using marinara instead of ketchup. Since we have some left overs.. I think I will give that a try.

I also have to give a shout out to the Colorado Grill here in Clovis because earlier that day I had one of their veggie burgers (again took off top bun). It was awesome! As you can see I had a really bad craving for burgers lol. But I did very good that day.

Yesterday however… that was a whole different story. My family and I went out to San Jose to celebrate a birthday. The shin-dig was being held at The Old Spaghetti Factory. I started off the day good with my normal routine. I packed an apple and my protein shake so that I could save my calories for dinner. I took my son to the Tech Museum to kill some time and at around lunch time we went to the café they have so we could get him something to eat for lunch. He got a personal cheese pizza, I got water since I had already drank my shake. But then he offered me a slice…. I looked at the size and thought “well it’s really tiny… it’ll be okay if I have one”. Let me tell you, that one tiny slice of pizza ignited some sort of dormant hunger in the back of my brain. When we went to dinner I had it all planned out that I would order something like capellini pomodoro and not eat the whole plate, only drink water and not have any bread. That well thought out plan went flying out the window as soon as I hit the table. I ordered a glass of wine, angel hair pasta with white clam sauce and a salad. I wasn’t beating myself up too much because I was still thinking “I won’t eat any bread, drink lots of water and not eat the whole plate”. Then they brought cheese bread… it was all down hill from there. I had 2 pieces of the cheese bread, ate over half my plate of pasta, drank NO water and had 2 pieces of regular bread with butter. Our dinners came with a scoop of spumoni which was the icing on my big fat cake.  Big concern is that most of the day was spent sitting in a car driving… it wouldn’t have been so bad if I had been on my feet all day walking around. But eating that much and sitting for over 6 hours of the day, you’re bound to gain.

It was just one day and I’m allowed a cheat day every now and then but I really didn’t want yesterday to be a cheat day. I plan on not getting on the scale for a bit so I can keep myself from getting discouraged.

Today I’m in damage control mode. Today is the Super Bowl, and thankfully I have no party to attend. I will be studying which means I can totally stay on track with eating and get in a work-out before my dad takes over the TV.

Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you enjoy the chicken burgers! I’m hoping Shaandi will agree to do a weekly recipe for the blog!

-Christy

 

4 Responses to “Chef Spotlight and the Dreaded Spaghetti Factory.”

  1. Amy Says:

    Sweet potato fries could be one of my biggest weaknesses… and I am yet to understand how people don’t like them. SO GOOD!!!

  2. Shannon Says:

    Your chicken burger looks goooooood!
    You are allowed a cheat day now and then and sounds like this one was a really tasty one. Consider it a treat for how well you have been doing and will continue to do. 🙂

    • It was really good, I can’t take the credit though, my friend Shaandi gave me the recipe I just served it up a bit different. And yes it was a good cheat day! I actually didn’t do THAT bad. I really could have had the whole plate of pasta and at least 5 more peices of cheese bread lol.


Leave a Reply

