The 30 Pound Challenge

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Shocker! February 16, 2010

Hello all, 

Today is the beginning of the week for me thanks to Presidents day taking away the dreaded Monday blues. It was such a pretty day yesterday! I took Cam to the park yesterday and we spent a good 2 hours there. Watching the kids run around and climb all over stuff made me very envious. I wish I had that kind of energy! My spirits lifted a bit and I worked very hard at eating correctly yesterday. 

I did my normal day routine, coffee and fruit in the morning, Special K shake for lunch, yogurt for a snack and then homemade beef and barley veggie soup for dinner! OMG….. it was soooo good. I enjoyed it with some homemade whole grain rye bread my mother made…. oooooooooo. 

NOM NOM

 We got the recipe from cooks.com here ya go! 

  • 1 1/2 lbs. beef stew meat, cut in 1/2 inch cubes
    2 tbsp. all purpose flour
    2 cloves garlic, minced
    2 tbsp. vegetable oil
    8 c. water
    1 can (16 oz.) tomatoes, coarsely chopped, undrained
    1/2 c. regular barley
    1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
    1 tbsp. salt
    1 tsp. basil leaves, crushed
    Dash ground black pepper
  • 1 Bay leaf
    1 pkg. (10 oz.) frozen, cut or Italian cut green beans
    2 c. carrot slices
    1 c. celery slices
    1 c. coarsely chopped onions
  • 1c. red wine
In large bowl, dredge meat in flour. In 6 quart Dutch oven, brown meat and garlic in oil. Drain fat if necessary.Add water, tomatoes, barley, Worcestershire sauce, salt, basil, bay leaf and pepper. Bring to boiling, cover, reduce heat and simmer 1 hour. Add remaining ingredients. Bring to boiling, cover, reduce heat and simmer 20 to 25 minutes or until meat and vegetables are tender.
  • NOTE: Substitute 3/4 cup quick barley for regular barley, if desired. Add quick barley to soup with vegetables. Proceed as recipe directs 
Sooooooooooooooooooo yummy and comforting. Hit the spot. I don’t have the nutritional facts unfortunately, but this is a dish that I don’t worry too much about the calories since there’s so much good stuff in it, and as long as you stick to a portion size that’s reasonable, you’re good. 

I drank 3 big glasses of water with my soup to counter act any sodium bloat that might happen, although I do not recommend this so close to bed time lol. I was up all night going to the bathroom. I also treated myself to a banana with a tbls of peanut butter to curb my sweet tooth. I went to bed feeling very good about my day. 

I woke up this morning with awful cramps…. well crap! I took a leap of faith and decided to jump on the scale… yeah… bad idea. 

Weight for today 144 lbs. GRRRRRR. I’m not surprised, I totally misbehaved this weekend. But damn! How frustrating that it takes 2 weeks to lose a pound, and it only takes a couple days to gain it back. No worries. I’m back in focus and ready to smash my goal. I’m making waaaaay to many excuses on why I can’t exercise on a daily basis, and it’s all bull. There’s no good excuse, I just don’t feel like it. I’m a huge Olympics fan, and no not just for figure skating. I used to skii, and I was good! But I got older and things like boyfriends got in the way and I just stopped. I have lost all leg strength and stamina, and would probably die if I tried now. But I’m starting to think that maybe that should be another goal of mine. Get back into downhill strength. It’s amazing the things you loved so much that you lose when you become overweight. I’m not saying I’m obese, and I can only imagine what it’s like to just get around at that weight. With just ten to twenty extra pounds… it hinders your ability to do certain things. 

I say this all the time… I am not trying to lose weight to be skinny. I was never skinny even at 103 pounds. My body type will always give the illusion that I have a couple extra pounds on me. I do however want to be active again, feel good and enjoy the things I used to. Not to mention my whole fathers side of the family inflicted with type 2 diabetes. That scares me to death. Every time I have a set back and I’m ready to throw in the towel and just eat whatever I want to… I remind myself of what I’m up against. When cancer and diabetes are knocking at your door, it’s not time to fool around and put things off till tomorrow. 

I plan on getting that gain off this week and pushing through the cramps to fit in some work-outs. 

Thanks for stopping by! 

Christy

* Okay so the editor is making me crazy, so I apologize for margines, bullets and paragraph breaks… it refuses to do what I want it to.

 

Leave a Reply

