The 30 Pound Challenge

Just another WordPress.com weblog

20 pounds! February 22, 2010

Happy Monday ya’ll!

It is for me at least!

Yup that’s right I officially hit 139.1 pounds today. That’s 20 pounds! I haven’t been under 140 for a couple years now. I’m sooooo proud of myself. Honestly through all the crap that I have going on in my life, this is the one thing that I know I can control. When I started this blog I wasn’t sure I could keep it up. I figured, “well at this age it’s just natural that I’m overweight”. And since my boyfriend loves me at any size I am, I wasn’t that invested in REALLY losing weight. Doing this blog, and knowing people actually come read it, even people I don’t know… it set a fire in me. I have a new passion for cooking healthy, mainly because when I find something really good I get to share it with all of you. I’m doing this without pills, fad diets, a gym membership or personal trainer. It’s just me trying to get healthy and lose weight by trial and error.

So although I’m totally stoked about the weight loss, there are things I didn’t think about when setting on this journey. With weight loss comes loose-fitting clothing. lol DUH. My size 8 jeans are now a little saggy. I did not keep pants in size 6, which means I have to spend money on getting clothes. Today I’m gonna make a quick trip to Old Navy since they are having a $19.99 jeans sale to see what I’m working with. Other things you don’t think about is under garments! I have to get smaller bras (not happy about that lol) and underwear (am happy about that). Normally this would be very exciting, “yay an excuse to buy clothes”. But as a totally broke individual, this is not as thrilling as it should be. I’m going to hang in there with what I got till it’s absolutely necessary to get new ones… like having saggy panties… that’s just not cute. Right now it’s no big deal cuz there’s no boyfriend to disgust. When I purchase a smaller size jean I will take another pic for you all.

Now on to the food I had this weekend. I challenged myself to convert one of my more decadent cup cake recipes into something healthy. I think I succeeded, not as good as I was expecting… but good non the less.

The ingredients

Mix cake mix, 1 can of diet 7up and 1/4 cup egg beaters. Bake cup cakes (or cake if you prefer) as directed on the mix box. While baking take small box of sugar-free Jello and dissolve in 3/4 cup boiling water.

Try not to over mix so carbonation is maintained

Once cup cakes are cool poke holes with a toothpick all over cakes and slowly pour Jello on top. Quickly remove cupcakes from pans onto paper towels so bottoms don’t get soggy. Move to the fridge.

mmmmmmmm

I like to drizzle a little glaze on them to make them pretty, but not necessary. They are about 85 calories per cup cake. Not too shabby! I will say I prefer them in sheet cake form, because the Jello gets in the cake a lot better than in cup cake form. But with cup cakes it’s easy to figure out portion.

I didn't eat 2, just 1... but this was a cuter pic lol

Now on to dinner! I cooked up a box of Barilla Whole Wheat pasta (I’m the only person in the house that likes it lol). In a pan I heated up some olive oil, garlic and sautéed sliced baby Portobellos. I added a can of diced tomatoes and cut up the last chicken burger into cubes. Pour sauce over noodles and topped it with a little shredded Romano cheese.

hmmm… for some reason the picture won’t upload… soooo, just trust that it was super tasty till I can get that up.

Well that’s about it for today. Today is my long day in classes… 1pm-10pm…. blah! Thanks for stopping by!

-Christy

 

4 Responses to “20 pounds!”

  1. Shannon Says:

    Wow, those look sooooo yummy! I love the before, during and after photos. You make me want to make these and I’m not usually a baker. *licking chops*

  2. I love the whole wheat pasta! Now the regular white pasta is a texture I can’t stand anymore… yuck!

    And congrats on the milestone! Now jean shopping starts to get fun! 🙂

    • I’ve gotten used to the Wheat texture now and I’m also starting to prefer it to regular. Because my torso is extra small and my butt and thighs are usually a large, it makes jeans shopping as bad as puling teeth. BUT… I’m excited to see if I can slip in a smaller size. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

