The 30 Pound Challenge

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Yummy bites. March 9, 2010

Happy Tuesday every one! 

So as promised, I tried some new recipes on Sunday for the Academy Awards. It was just my parents and I, but I love watching the Oscars so I wanted to make it kind of special. These recipes I found on-line and didn’t think to remember the web site…. sooooo just know I did not create these recipes. 

First…. while shopping for the ingredients I found these… 

In the words of Rachel Zoe... "I DIE!"

Yoplait 100 calorie Delight Parfaits…. This was the lemon tart. Pardon me for cussing… but holy shit are they good! They have 4 flavors, this one, chocolate raspberry, caramel creme and triple berry creme…… HIGHLY recommend them. I actually went back to restock today and they were completely out… yeah they’re that good. 

Okay on to the recipes… 

Mini spinach Calzones

  • 10 oz pkg frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
  • 1/2 8 ounce package of Neufchtel (reduced fat cream cheese) softened
  • 2 TBLS.  grated parmesan cheese
  • 2 TBLS. chopped green onion
  • 1/4 tsp. ground black pepper
  • A 13.8 ounce can refrigerated pizza dough (I used philsberry)
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 TBLS. water
  • 1 TBLS. grated parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 400. Line baking sheets with foil and spray with non stick cooking spray. In medium bowl stir together spinach, cream cheese, 2 tbls parmesan, green onion, pepper and salt. 

Unroll pizza dough on a lightly floured surface; roll dough into a 15 inch square. Cut dough into 25 3 inch squares. Spoon filling onto the center of the squares. combine egg white and water and use a brush to lightly brush the edges of the squares. Fold dough to make a triangle and pinch closed. brush tops of triangles with egg wash and sprinkle with remaining parmesan cheese. Poke tops for an air vent. 

Bake for about 10 minutes or until golden brown. I served them warm with warm pizza sauce. So good! Only 56 calories and 2g of fat! 

Fresh mozzarella, basil and prosciutto

Pretty self explanatory. Get the mini fresh mozzarella balls fold basil and prosciutto around the ball and toothpick. My personal fave because it’s so dang easy. 

Basil Garlic Tomatoes

 

  • 2 TBLS. light sour cream
  • 2 TBLS. snipped fresh basil
  • 1 TBLS Neufchtel
  • 1 clove garlic
  • cracked pepper
  • 16 cherry tomatoes halved.

Mix all ingredients and place in a small zip lock bag. Snip one end and pipe topping onto tomatoes. This one was my dads favorite. Best part… for 8 tomato halves it’s only 31 calories and 1g of fat! 

They were all super simple and really tasty. I could kinda pig out and not feel bad about it! 

Yesterday I decided to have a cheat day and scarfed down a single cheese burger and fries from In and Out Burger… it was well deserved and I didn’t feel guilty at all about it. I have come to realize that I can have these things once in a while… just not every damn day. And when I do splurge, I know that I can make up for it and stick with what I’m trying to accomplish. That’s such a good feeling. 

That’s all for now! Hope you enjoy those recipes as much as we did! 

-Christy

 

2 Responses to “Yummy bites.”

  1. The calzones look yummy! I’m a sucker for that kind of stuff (aka carb-wrapped deliciousness).


Leave a Reply

