The 30 Pound Challenge

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Living Life April 12, 2010

Hello everyone!

So as you may have noticed I have not posted in a while. There are several reasons for my lack of updates.

1. I’ve been living life. I’ve been doing a lot of fun stuff and not so fun stuff. But I’ve been a busy bee. School has been nuts, I’ve been enjoying having Ed back and I’ve been extra focused on Cam. Let me tell you, being a mom, full-time student and girlfriend is no easy task.

2. I have not been on my best behavior with my eating… and I was almost afraid to get on the scale and have to admit to you all that I’ve gained some massive amount of weight in a 2 week period.  That would be such a let down for me.

I knew the longer I went without getting on that scale and updating my progress, the worse it would get and I could possibly go back to my old habits. I’ve worked too damn hard for that to happen!

This weekend I went to Sacramento to spend a little time with Ed. It was a conversation with our friends about how it’s important to know your families medical history so that you know what you’re up against, that got me back into the correct mind-set again. It’s not for looks… Ed loves me either way, as proven by the massive popcorn, soda and candy he insisted I eat at the movies. It’s the word “diabetes”. There is no question if I will get it if I become obese, I will get it. I can’t afford to take that chance. I’ve got a child that depends on me. So even though it wasn’t that big of a deal to have one too many slices of pizza, or to eat that extra cupcake this weekend… I know that I’m walking a fine line and in a way playing with fire.  One thing leads to another and I get into the mind-set “oh well just one Dr. pepper is not so bad…” That one Dr. Pepper leads to 2, and then running through Jack-in-the box for some fries… stopping and getting a $5 hot-n-ready and eating it by myself… Yeah I said by myself!

I gave away my larger sized jeans, and I can’t afford to by new ones… soooo going back to my old ways of eating is not an option. I will say that in my head it feels like I’ve gone way off track. But in actuality I’ve actually been doing okay. I have stuck to my normal eating routine for breakfast and lunch… it’s dinners that I’ve gone a little hay-wire with. That and my work-outs have been non-existant. Late night studying and stress has all but extinguished my energy level. I will do at least 3 work outs this week if it kills me! I know the lack of exercise is whats making me so dang sluggish.

With all that being said, I got on the scale this morning and I am 135.1 lbs. Soooo all things considered… I only gained .6 which is A LOT better than I was expecting. I was worried I was going to see a 5 pound gain. I’m glad I got straightened out now though. That’s still a normal weight, and a totally manageable gain. If I clean up my eating and do some exercise this week I’m pretty sure I can get back to at least 134.5 by the end of the week.

I just received a text from ed a few minutes ago saying he took one of my shakes to work and asked if that was really all I had for lunch. I told him that’s my lunch most days and I have a snack a couple of hours later. I told him that I hope that’s not all he brought himself for lunch because that would not be enough for him! His response was “oops”. Poor thing is going to be starving by the end of the day.

Well ya’ll thanks for stopping by. I will make sure i get back on track with the updates and pics. The Easter issue of Martha Stewarts Living has some fantastic looking healthy recipes that I plan on trying… so look out for those updates!

-Christy

 

4 Responses to “Living Life”

  1. nduff Says:

    Glad to see you’re back to posting and back on board with healthy living. It’s hard to balance life with wanting to be healthy sometimes, but it looks like you’ve found some great motivation. Good luck!

  2. Dinner is always a rough one for me, too. I think sometimes a big part of that is fatigue- and I’m mindlessly eating…

    But no worries! I’m sure you can easily get back into the routine! 🙂


Leave a Reply

