The 30 Pound Challenge

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Detox April 13, 2010

Well, yesterday was my first day back in the saddle. it was my long day so it was pretty easy for me to stick to my guns. my rule on Mondays “if you didn’t pack it, you don’t eat it”. Since I didn’t have a chance to do my normal shopping for the week, I quickly ran to Vons before I headed off to class to pick up just what I needed for that day. I knew it was going to be a day full of cravings and headaches because of the total junk I’ve been eating the last couple weeks, so I chose things that would make it feel like I wasn’t totally depriving myself. I grabbed a pack of my special K shakes, a pineapple upside down cake yogurt, a pack of carrots and hummus and for my dinner I went with a pre-made roast beef torta.

You don’t realize how much crappy food effects you until you remove it from your diet. By noon I was super jittery and if I had been driving around I might have been tempted to drive through some fast food chain. But since I was sitting in my car waiting for class to start, I had my shake and felt a little less like a crack addict. At break I started on my yogurt and it was awful! I was so disappointed! It tasted like butter with pineapple chunks. I had maybe 3 bites and tossed it. I was planning on saving the carrots and hummus for my night class, but I knew if I didn’t have a snack I would be a mess the rest of the day. I love hummus… when I ran out of the carrots I just sat there and used my finger to spoon it in my mouth. Clearly I have no shame.

As I set off on my 30 minute drive to the Madera campus, I ripped open my torta and scarfed it while driving. Boy was it tasty! Roast beef, tomatoes, jalapenos and queso fresco all in a yummy bun. It was uber satisfying and truth be told, I probably could have eaten several of them. I drank plenty of water through out my day and didn’t feel too bad at the end of my day. When I got home around 9pm I had a bit of a sweet tooth and grabbed a nutter butter cookie.

Sleep was a big mess. All that water did a number on me through out the night. I think I got up 3 times to use the loo. My mother gets up around 4:30am to get ready for work… which means the house comes alive at that time. She’s coughing (because she still refuses to go to a Dr.), opening and closing cabinets, watching TV… and since she’s awake, so are the dogs. Our doggie door sounds like a gun shot going off every time they go in and out and my room just happens to be right above the damn thing.  I had a moment of “Should I get up and shoosh them?” needless to say I didn’t. Instead I laid there and cursed them.

I got up this morning cranky. I’m fairly sure the PMS monster is rearing its ugly head today. Between finding out that Ed washed his cells phone last night with the laundry, and finding out the one day I need someone to pick Cam up from school is the exact day my mother has to work over time…. I’m on serious edge. I got on the scale today and there was a .4 gain!? WTF!? I hope to God it’s because of my upcoming monthly curse. I was about to take my balance board and throw it at the television.

So I’m thinking I’m going to cook something healthy for dinner tonight since I only have one class. Just gotta figure out what I’m gonna make. Hrmmm. If you have any suggestions or good recipes let me know!

Have a great day!

-Christy

 

2 Responses to “Detox”

  1. Ugh… I hate the next day or two after having a good ol’ junk food binge… I always feel sluggish! Especially after overdoing a sugar binge. Which happens more than I’d like to admit. 😉


Leave a Reply

